skip to content

Cambridge Institute for Medical Research


The Cambridge Institute for Medical Research is a cross-Department research institute.  Part of the University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine , CIMR is located in a dedicated research building on the Cambridge Biomedical Campus

At the interface between laboratory research and the clinic, CIMR's mission is to determine the molecular mechanisms of disease in order to advance human health. To achieve this, we leverage deep collaborations between basic and clinician scientists, built on shared interests, outstanding core facilities and an inclusive, supportive working environment.

Institute Director: Prof. Julian Rayner     Deputy Director: Prof. David Rubinsztein


CIMR Committees:
The Director and Deputy Director report to the Governance Committee, which acts as an oversight committee and comprises heads of University departments with staff in the CIMR. The Governance Committee is chaired by the Regius Professor of Physic (Head of the Clinical School; Patrick Maxwell), and reports to the Faculty Board.
Current members are Julian Rayner, David Rubinsztein, Eamonn Maher, Ken Smith, Geoffrey Smith, Fiona Gribble, Tony Green, Patrick Chinnery, David Rowitch and Anna Philpott.

The Institute Management Committee is responsible for PI recruitment, space and resource management. Membership includes six PIs (each appointed for three year periods, not immediately renewable), together with the Deputy Director and CIMR Administrator.
Current members are Julian Rayner (Chair), Folma Buss, Janet Deane, Sarah Smith, David Rubinsztein, David Ron, Evan Reid, Mike Weekes, Mike Murphy (MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit) and Mariann Bienz (MRC LMB).

The General Purposes Committee is chaired by the Deputy Director, reports to the Institute Management Committee. The GPC is responsible for the running, maintenance and distribution of funds for core equipment, and it receives reports from core equipment user groups, floor PI meetings, the IT manager, the Laboratory/Facilities Manager and the Institute Safety Committee (chaired by the Director).
The General Purposes Committee includes six PIs not on the Institute Management Committee (each appointed for two year periods). Current members are David Rubinsztein (Chair), Neil Kent, Dave Cheesman, Jonathan Wilson, Symeon Siniossoglou, Mike Weekes, David Ron, Evan Reid, and representative PhD students and post-doc researchers. 

There are additional Committees, User and Operations groups within CIMR to support the Institute.